BUCHANAN, Wis. (June 20, 2024) – Chad Butz had yet to finish outside of the Top Three leading up to Thursday night’s Schmitty’s Tickets 35-lap Super Late Model feature presented by Al Huss Auto and Valley Gasket.  He kept the streak alive, flexing his muscle on the way to a convincing win – his first of the Fox River Racing Club season at Wisconsin International Raceway.

Butz bolted into Second by lap seven and worked his way past Grant Griesbach after a single-file restart to take the top spot for good.

Drivers scrambled for position early in the feature after Griesbach took the lead from Travis Rodewald. The caution fell on lap one, however, for a Randy Schuler spin.  On the following restart, Griesbach was again able to get away into the top spot.  This time, Sawyer Effertz was in tow and ready to battle for Second.

Quickly, things began to open up for Butz. He followed to Third by lap six before a caution involving Rodewald brought out another yellow. On the restart Butz followed behind Griesbach and Effertz, settling into Third.  The duo of Butz and Effertz raced in close quarters for Second on lap seven when a caution fell for Effertz in turns three and four.

On the single file restart Butz was able to size up Griesbach. It took Butz several laps on the inside line to outlast Griesbach and take the lead, which he did for good on lap 12.  Meanwhile, Maxwell Schultz was on the move and grabbed Third by lap 17, when the final caution of the race fell.

The green flag saw Butz jump away again and left Griesbach to deal with Schultz, who eventually took the spot on lap 24.  In the final laps, Riley Stenjem was also on the move. He secured Fourth on lap 27, but was unable to make a pass on Griesbach in the final laps.  At the checkered flag it was Butz with a massive advantage over Schultz, Griesbach held off Stenjem for Third, and Taylor Vandermoss rounded out the Top Five.


It almost looked as though TJ Spierowski was done and dusted after an early restart in the Fox City’s Towing Late Model feature. However, Spierowski came back to life, repassing Braison Bennett and walking away to victory in the 20-lap main.

The race got off to a bit of a rocky start when a caution fell on lap two for an incident involving Scott Wolf, Brent Strelka and Tarra Springstroh. It unfortunately brought all of their races to an end.

The restart saw Bennett battle past Spierowski into the lead. Seemingly ready to take off, Bennett was not able to space himself from Spierowski.  At the same time Brian Henry and Alex Stumpf had pulled into the Top Five and were preparing to do battle.

On lap 9 Spierowski got back to the inside of Bennett and recaptured the lead. Just as he did that, Stumpf moved past Henry into Third.  Four laps later Stumpf was able to pass Bennett and take Second.  By this point, Spierowski had a healthy advantage and held it all the way to the checkered flag. Stumpf scored a Second Place finish, Bennett was Third, Henry Fourth and Nate Van Wychen Fifth.


Although both winners came from the front row of the twin 15-lap features for the Pete’s Auto WIR ¼-Mile Late Models, plenty of work had to be done. Henry Neerdaels outlasted Rick Spoo in the first feature while Dan Thomson kept Ty Fietzer and Don Dix at bay in the second.

Neerdaels battled Mike Reichenberger early in the first 15 lapper. Eventually Spoo and Tim Baumann came knocking at the door. On a restart with six laps to go, Neerdaels was able to fight off Spoo, sending him to Second. Baumann then jumped to the outside line and was gaining on Neerdaels for the lead until the yellow fell again with five laps remaining.

A single-file restart saw Neerdaels get away, and Spoo go back to Second. Despite keeping close tabs on Neerdaels, Spoo was unable to make a final move. Baumann was Third, Pete McVey Fourth, and Reichenberger Fifth.

In the second feature, Thomson secured an early lead from fellow front-row starter Don Dix. Ty Fietzer followed on the outside line and took Second.  He then began to look for away around Thomson.

As Fietzer surveyed his options, Thomson was able to hold him off.  The battle between the leaders allowed Dix back into the mix. He took Second with five laps left and looked for his opportunity to take the win.  However, as Thomson held on Fietzer dived to the inside to take Second on the final lap as Dix was sent spinning out of turn four. The final finishing order behind Thomson was Fietzer, Heather Wolfgram, McVey, and Baumann in the Top Five.


Cody Vanderloop is a firm believer in the outside line on the quarter mile in the Novus Auto Glass Super Stocks. He proved why finding the right setup out there is worth while by taking the win in the 20-lap feature.

Starting third row outside, Vanderloop saw the top lane open up early.  Jeff Treml grabbed the lead while Larry Raygo slid in front of Chuck Gilbertson Jr to round out the Top Three.   That left plenty of room for Vanderloop to do his work.

By lap five Vanderloop was side-by-side for Third. By lap eight he was to Second.  He then worked the outside line of Treml for three laps before finally taking the lead on lap 13.  Not much changed behind him as Treml held Second, Raygo Third, Gilbertson Fourth and Josh Mueller ran to Fifth.


Mason Calmes picked up his first win of the 2024 season in the Wisconsin Sport Truck 20-lap feature. His second win in the division overall, Thursday’s run to the front was impressive after setting fast time earlier in the evening.

Cadyn Liedke led early in the main as Tom Gee and Masyn Liedke battled for Second.  It was Calmes on the march early as he found his way to Third by lap five. Two laps later he took Second and set his sights on the lead, which he grabbed on lap 11.

Brady Vanderloop was also on the move as he took Second on lap 12. Shortly afterward Kyle Quella found himself in the Top Five before the caution fell.  On the restart Calmes was able to outlast Vanderloop and cruise to the win.  Kyle Quella converted a three-wide pass to take Third late in the event while Gee just edged Cadyn Liedke to finish Fourth at the checkered flag.


Despite Jordan Fickel crossing the line first in the Roundabout Bar & Grill Sizzlin’ 4 20-lap feature, it was Eli Schommer who was celebrating the win. Fickel was disqualified in post-race inspection, handing the win to Schommer.

Fickel and Schommer dashed through the field early, setting up an enticing battle for the win.  Schommer shadowed Fickel for much of the race after they took First and Second on a lap-three restart.  Schommer looked like he was ready to make his move at halfway, but the yellow fell.

The final laps brought some chaos as Jeremy Czarapata tried to swipe a spot and got into the grass, kicking some moisture onto the track. Schommer had gone to the outside of Fickel coming through three and four on the final lap. Fickel slipped in the fluid, running Schommer out of room.  Despite that, the Second Place run was enough for Schommer after post-race tech. Third Place Taylor Vandenberg was also disqualified in post-race tech, leaving Schommer to be followed by Kory Lorrigan, Gavin Klein, Shane Schwaller and Jacoby Pollei.


Mike Meyerhofer was just able to hold on for a win in the 13-lap Marty Nussbaum Racing Figure 8 feature.

Early race leaders Jeff Danley and Tyler Vanderbloemen tangled, handing the lead to Meyerhofer. He was trailed for most of the race by Matt Bauer and Russ Lorbiecki.  Lorbiecki was able to steal Second and set his sights on Meyerhofer with two laps remaining.

Despite a couple of near misses in the X and needing to slow his pace coming to the checkered flag to avoid a hit, Meyerhofer was able to hold off Lorbiecki. Bauer finished Third.


All divisions including the WIR ¼-Mile Late Models are on the card with L&W Supply helping bring the action. Racing begins at 6:30pm.