BUCHANAN, Wis. (May 23, 2024) – Former Fox River Racing Club Champion Maxwell Schultz put his mark on the 2024 season with a late race move past Jordan Thiel to claim the first 35-lap Schmitty’s Tickets Super Late Model feature of the season.  Thursday night’s opener at Wisconsin International Raceway presented by CertaPro Painters marked the 50th season for the FRRC.

Thiel took control of the caution-free Super Late Model main event at the drop of the green flag. He was able to power past fellow front-row starter Travis Rodewald, who was left to deal with several contenders.  As Thiel stretched out his lead, Schultz made an early move to Fourth on lap three. Two laps later his lid past Andy Monday for Third.

As the laps clicked off Thiel continued to hold a healthy advantage. Schultz caught Rodewald and made a swift pass on lap eight. Behind them, Chad Butz and fast qualifier Riley Stenjem were on the move, looking to hunt down Grant Griesbach in Fourth.

It was Griesbach who would make the next challenge, attempting to take Third from Rodewald. However, a slip off turn four on lap 21 allowed Butz and Stenjem to move past and set their sights on Rodewald.  They found themselves past on lap 25.

By this point Thiel and Schultz had separated from the field.  Schultz held close, waiting for the right opportunity to make his move.  With five laps remaining he pulled to the bumper of Thiel and made his pass one lap later, ducking to the inside entering turn one.  Thiel was able to stay close, but could not mount a final challenge.  Butz and Stenjem settled into Third and Fourth, and Griesbach moved back into the Top Five by the time the checkered flag fell.


Brent Strelka capitalized on a restart at the halfway point of the Fox City’s Towing Late Model 20-lap feature to grab the feature win in an impressive field that included new faces and returning contenders.

The race got off to a bit of a shaky start when a yellow on lap three collected quick competitors such as TJ Speirowski, fast qualifier Bryan Henry, and Braison Bennett. Of those involved only Henry sustained enough damage to visit the pits for repairs.

Matt Wittman was able to outlast Bryan Monday on the lap three restart and settled into the lead.  Behind them, Strelka, Nate VanWychen and Alex Stumpf were ready to pounce.  They followed Wittman into Second, Third and Fourth.

As the race neared the halfway point, Wittman continued to pace the field, feeling some heat from Strelka, but no major threats as drivers settled in.  That changed when a yellow fell for debris at halfway.

The first restart was washed out when VanWychen was unable to get up to speed and had to retire to the pit area.  On the second restart, Strelka was able to jump ahead.  He brought Stumpf with, and Braison Bennett followed to Third shortly afterward.

In the final laps it was Strelka with Stumpf and Bennett in close proximity.  Stumpf kept close tabs on Strelka, hoping for a chance to steal the win. However, in the end Stumpf had to hold off Bennett, who provided a strong challenge for Second.  With those two battling, Strelka was able to step away and secure the win. Stumpf was able to hold on for Second over Bennett.


Former division Champions Mike Reichenberger and Rick Spoo split the Pete’s Auto WIR ¼-Mile Late Model 15-lap features.

Reichenberger grabbed control of the first feature from the pole. As he held the advantage, Tim Baumann was on the move. He was able to take Third by lap three and Second by lap four.  However, he could not find a way to challenge Reichenberger, who went on for the win.  Henry Neerdaels crept past Baumann late to take Second.

In the second feature Shane Kruger took an early lead. A quick caution brought Spoo to the outside for a restart on lap one.  Spoo was able to vault into the lead.  Behind him Dan Thompson took Second and Ty Fietzer grabbed Third by halfway. Although both kept close tabs on Spoo, neither were able to make a move. At the checkered it was Spoo followed by Thompson and Fietzer.


TJ Smith showed some battle scars, but ultimately made his way to victory lane in the 20-lap Novus Auto Glass Super Stock feature.  Smith took the lead with four laps to go and held off early-race leader Ethan Beattie.

The first half of the race saw two cautions and the field jockeyed for position behind Beattie. In the mix were Mike Gilson, Josh Mueller and Smith. Amongst the scrambles, Smith sustained some damage to both the nose and the tail of his machine. However, he was able to race on.

A key restart on lap seven set the tone.  Gilson filed behind Beattie leaving the Top Five in single file. That allowed Smith to make his march. He was up to Second by lap 11, then hunted down Beattie to take the lead on lap 16.  Beattie was Second and Mueller held off a hard-charging Cody Vanderloop for Third.


Kyle Quella is becoming captain clutch in the Wisconsin Sport Trucks. After a last-lap pass to win on May 13, he took the 20 lapper on Thursday night in exciting fashion holding off Brady and Kasey Vanderloop.

Tom Gee Jr., found his way to the front of the field early as drivers scrambled for position.  On lap six fast qualifier Kasey Vanderloop took a wild ride, spinning on the backstretch and ending up on his driver’s side door.  He was able to continue and had plenty of time to try to work his way back to the front.

Gee held on to the lead on the restart but on a following restart on lap eight, it was Quella who took control.  Working through lapped traffic, Quella held the lead as Brady and Kasey Vanderloop mounted charges to the front.

With three laps to go Brady Vanderloop looked to challenge Quella for the win. He got crossed up with a lapped truck, allowing Quella to escape, and sending Kasey Vanderloop to Second.  Brady got back to the lead duo and created a three-truck scramble for the win.  Exiting turn four to the checkered, Quella was able to hold off the brothers by a truck length.


Gavin Klein would not be denied in the 20-lap Roundabout Bar & Grill Sizzlin’ 4 feature. He hunted down early-race leader Jeremy Czarapata and held on for the win in heavy lapped traffic.

Czarapata jumped out to a huge advantage over the pack as the field settled in behind. It was Klein on the move early as he grabbed Second by lap six.  He then had to make up nearly a straightaway. Behind him Justin and Jordan Fickel were also climbing into the Top Five.

Klein eventually chased down Czarapata and made his move on lap 15.  Despite making the pass, Czarapata held close, making one final challenge on the final lap. It was not enough, however, as Klein hung on.


Jordan Gracyalny got to the lead of the 13-lap Marty Nussbaum Racing Figure 8 feature just in time to claim the win.

After taking the lead from Nick Ostburg a wild incident brought the race to an end. Tyler Vanderbloemen and Mike Meyerhofer tangled, resulting in Meyerhofer’s car tilted driver’s side down with Vanderbloemen on top.  Both drivers were ok, but the complicated clean up brought an end to the race.


The Fox River Racing Club’s 50th season continues at Wisconsin International Raceway as Bergstrom Chevrolet Cadillac of Appleton helps bring the action.  The Super Late Models, Late Models, Super Stocks, Wisconsin Sport Trucks, Sizzlin’ 4s, and Figure 8s make up the card. Racing begins at 6:30pm.