BUCHANAN, Wis. (August 3, 2023) – Cody Vanderloop would not be denied a second straight win in the crown jewel event for the Novus Auto Glass Super Stocks Thursday night at Wisconsin Internatoinal Raceway.

Vanderloop engaged in battle with Mike Meyerhofer on a restart with two laps to go and outlasted him in a duel to become the third driver to win the Stan Memorial in back-to-back years.

The win came on a night where the rains came around 6 pm as fans prepared for a full night of Fox River Racing Club action presented by Bergstom GM of Neenah. The deluge dropped a large amount of rain on the facility, leaving a challenging situation.

The half-mile teams and officials elected to cancel the night’s events for the safety of the teams as the grounds could not dry in time. This left the quarter-mile in the spotlight, most specifically, the large field of Super Stocks.

Arianna and Emery Beattie led the field to green for the 25-lap Super Stock main event.  Arianna secured the lead on lap one as Cole Bigelow challenged for Second. The driver on the move early was Adam Peterman, who was challenging for Third when the first caution fell on lap four.

On the restart Arianna Beattie once again got away for the pack and Peterman went back to work, eventually getting past Bigelow on lap seven.  Five laps later the Top Five started to take shape with Mike Meyerhofer on the move up to Fourth.  He had moved to Second by lap 17 when another caution fell for a spin by Peter Wilz.

Meyerhofer was able to push past Beattie on the outside and into the lead on the restart.  Behind him Vanderloop was also in the outside line and followed into Second. The duo stepped away from the pack with Vanderloop hounding Meyerhofer for the lead.  One final caution for debris would set up a fateful single-file restart.

The top two once again broke away with Vanderloop right on the tail of Meyerhofer. Meyerhofer washed up slightly going into turns one and two, allowing Vanderloop to slip to the inside line.  Coming to the white flag, Meyerhofer remained even with Vanderloop, trying to fight him off. However, Vanderloop was able to use the preferred line to clear Meyerhofer exiting turn two, then rolled to the checkered flag.

Arianna Beattie held Third, Dan Gracyalny and TJ Smith cruised through the field late to round out the Top Five.


It was a big night for the Marty Nussbaum Racing Figure 8s, as well, as they honored many-time Champion and WIR Circle of Famer Terry Van Roy.  With nearly 20 entries taking the green flag, it was the largest Thursday night field of Figure 8s in over a decade.

Ethan Beattie took an early lead in the TVR tribute car. After an early red he was challenge by Danny Gracyalny, who was inducted into the Circle of Fame earlier in the night.

As Gracyalny challenged Beattie, they came together, opening the door for Meyerhofer to steal the lead.  Gracyalny eventually took Second and looked to keep pace with Meyerhofer.  He challenged on several occasions, but could not muster enough to take the win away.


Wayne Posselt and Ty Fietzer split the twin 15-lap Pete’s Auto WIR ¼-Mile Late Model features.

In the first feature Randy Boegh took an early lead in a caution-marred start the event. Once things settled with three laps in the books, Boegh was joined by Posselt for a restart.  Posselt grabbed the lead before another spin just one lap later.

On the restart Posselt was trailed by Braison Bennett and Boegh.  Bennett attempted to go to the high line to steal the lead from Posselt, but the lane did not work out for him. Boegh went past in to Second, Dan Thomson captured Third, and Rick Spoo took Fourth in front of Bennett at the checkered flag.

The second feature saw Fietzer and Tim Bauman scrap for the lead early. Fietzer maintained the preferred bottom groove as Bauman tried to push past on the top line.  Eventually Bauman tucked back into Second and decided to ride behind Fietzer, waiting for an opportunity.

With four laps to go a caution involving Henry Neerdaels and Rick Spoo restacked the field. Bauman elected to try the high line to get around Fietzer again, but Fietzer remained strong on the inside, cruising to his first win in the division. Bauman was Second, Bennett Third, Bob Duchow Fourth, and Thomson Fifth.


Before his run to the checkered flag in the Super Stocks, Cody Vanderloop captured the Wisconsin Sport Truck 20-lap feature, as well. He patiently picked his way through the field early – grabbing the lead on a lap four restart – and didn’t look back.

Landon Braatz grabbed the lead early in the feature and built up a large advantage as the field scrambled for spots behind him. This was until Kasey Vanderloop and Jason Vanhandel came together on lap four. Kasey Vanderloop invoked the gentleman’s agreement, giving Vanhandel his spot back for the restart.

After one attempt fell by the wayside, the restart saw Cody Vanderloop on the outside of Braatz. Vanderloop secured the lead and began to run away from the pack.  One more caution brought another restart on lap six that allowed Vanderloop to get away again.

On that lap-six restart Vanderloop escaped the pack and left the field to battle for Top Five spots. Vanhandel was able to get around Braatz before halfway and the two would go on to finish Second and Third.

Cody and Kasey’s younger brother Brady Vanderloop enjoyed his best finish by climbing into the Top Five in the final laps. Young racer Masyn Liedke also scored a solid finish by rounding out the Top Five.


Mitch Opsahl grabbed his fifth win of the season in the Roundabout Bar and Grill Sizzlin’ 4 20-lap feature. Opsahl was to the lead by lap five before checking out.

Matthias Hecker took the lead early in the feature and brought Leon Frahm to Second. By lap three Opsahl was pressuring Frahm and quickly took the spot. Two laps later he was on the doorstep for the lead and slipped past Hecker.

As the leaders settled, it was the battle from Third on back that was intense. Hecker was pressured by the likes of Cory Lorrigan, Jacoby Pollei, and others.  Lorrigan eventually took Third and then held off a host of competitors through lapped traffic. Pollei finished Fourth and Jeremy Czarapata rounded out the Top Five.

Beattie finished Third, Russ Lorbiecki was Fourth, and Nick Ostburg was Fifth.


The 52nd Red, White and Blue Champion will be crowned in the Blue Race presented by Appleton Breakfast Rotary Club.  The Late Models, Super Stocks, Wisconsin Sport Trucks, Sizzlin’ 4s and Figure 8s will also determine their RW&B Champions. Racing begins at 6:30pm. Fans are reminded to bring their tickets from this Thursday’s race for a $3 discount.