BUCHANAN, Wis. (June 30, 2023) – After a lengthy streak of Second Place finishes nothing could stand in the way of Jordan Thiel and Victory Lane in Thursday night’s Fox River Racing Club Schmitty’s Tickets Super Late Model feature presented by Les Stumpf Ford.

The win was even sweeter as Thiel had set it as a goal for 2023, making a full-time return to Wisconsin International Raceway.  Having raced full-time nearly a decade ago, Thiel was finally able to secure victory.

Nick Van and Travis Rodewald battled for the lead early in the 35-lap event until a caution fell on lap three for a spin by Trevor Vandermolen.  The restart saw Thiel and Braison Bennett behind the lead duo.  Thiel wasted little time slicing his way to the front.

At the drop of the green Thiel snuck around the outside of Rodewald to grab Second and set his sights on Van.  Three laps later he found his way to the inside line, and willed his way past Van into the lead. From there, Thiel began to build a healthy margin.

Van and Rodewald were left to deal with some hungry competitors in Grant Griesbach, Maxwell Schultz, Bennett, Jeff VanOudenhoven and Sawyer Effertz. As the group moved toward the Top Five a yellow fell for debris on the front stretch. Seconds after the yellow fell Effertz and Bennett made contact exiting turn two, resulting in Bennett scraping the wall.  He would go to the pits to check over his machine then rejoin the field.

On the lap 13 restart Thiel outdueled Schultz to grab the lead.  Griesbach slid around the outside and took Second away as well. It appeared Effertz may have had issues from the contact as he fell back to the tail end of the Top Ten at the drop of the green.

As the laps clicked off it was Thiel pacing Griesbach, Schultz, and VanOudenhoven.  The lead quartet stayed put over the final laps to the checkered flag. Brent Strelka made a late move to round out the Top Five.


It seemed like a relatively straightforward Fox City’s Towing Late Model feature – until the final two laps.  Todd Verhagen led all 20 circuits, but had to hold off TJ Spierowski by a nose at the line after being hounded by Brandon Reichenberger.

Verhagen took off early with Bryan Monday, Reichenberger and JJ Vanderloop settling in behind him.  Things heated up with five to go when Vanderloop shot to the outside of Reichenberger and Monday looking to go from Fourth to Second in one swoop.  He and Monday ended up in the same plot of real estate exiting turn four, sending Vanderloop hard into the outside wall and ending his race. Monday was sent to the tail for being involved.

The restart brought Reichenberger to the tail of Verhagen.  He hounded the leader for three laps then began to make a move at the white flag.  Reichenberger tapped the bumper of Verhagen entering turn three, resulting in both drivers washing up the track, but recovering.  As they powered out of turn four TJ Spierowski slide to the inside line and ended up in a drag race with Verhagen for the win.  Verhagen held on by a nose over the rookie with Reichenberger clipping Justin Woller at the line for Third. Scott Wolf scored his first ever Top Five behind the intense finish.


Adam Peterman played the Novus Auto Glass 20-lap feature to perfection, scoring his first win on the quarter-mile.  Although he led the entire race, Peterman was forced to fend off some hearty challenges from veteran Jeff Treml.

Peterman snatched the lead from Larry Raygo on lap four and brought Treml to Second.  They then stepped away from the pack to settle the score. Behind them Raygo and Chuck Gilbertson Jr. jousted for Third. Trevor Howard and Dylan Wenzel hoped to move through, but were unable to find room with the battle ahead of them.

Caution fell for a spin on lap 15.  Peterman again surged away on the restart and held firm on the inside line.  Despite a couple of attempts at the outside, Treml was unable to pull even, until the final lap.  Exiting turn four Treml smoked the right rear tire hoping to find the grip to power to the win, but could not muster enough.  Peterman secured the victory, Treml was Second, Raygo held Third, and Howard slipped past Gilbertson for Fourth.


With big wheel racing on the card Thursday, Mason Calmes might have been getting flashbacks of his past domination in year’s past. This year, however, Calmes grabbed a different trophy on big wheel night – one for his first Wisconsin Sport Truck feature win.

The young third-generation racer put forth an impressive performance in the 20-lap main event holding off past Champions and veterans.

Alex Ruedinger and Landon Braatz exchanged the lead early in the event with Owen Voight and Jason Vanhandel in the mix as well. After a spin on lap five Vanhandel made some quick moves to grab the lead by lap eight.  At halfway he lead Voight, Calmes, Kyle Quella, and Cody Vanderloop.

An incident involving Kasey Vanderloop and Kyle Quella on lap 12 brought out another caution. Vanderloop tapped out, giving Quella his spot back for the restart.  At the drop of the green Calmes began to nose ahead of Vanhandel, eventually securing the lead by lap 14.

Calmes then drove away on another restart with four laps remaining. Behind him Cody Vanderloop dashed to Second and started to close the gap, but he did not have enough time to mount a challenge. Quella settled in Third, Voight was Fourth, and Vanhandel was Fifth.


Mitch Opsahl looked to be a man on a mission in the Roundabout Bar & Grill Sizzlin’ 4 20-lap feature.  He was into the Top Five by lap four and took the lead on lap eight before securing the win.

Opsahl did most of his work on the outside line and followed Leon Frahm on lap seven, when Frahm took the lead. It was a short-lived lead however, as Opsahl quickly dashed past him into the top spot.

A yellow fell shortly after, leaving Opsahl to fend off Frahm again on the restart. He did so and built another comfortable advantage.  Another restart with three laps remaining brought Frahm back to the bumper of Opsahl to challenge.

Despite staying close the leader, Frahm was unable to mount a challenge until the checkered fell. Opsahl won by a car length over Frahm, Jacoby Pollei was Third, Jeremy Czarapata Fourth, and Shane Schwaller was Fifth.


While he may be no stranger to Victory Lane in the Sizzlin’ 4s, Mitch Opsahl grabbed his first ever Marty Nussbaum Racing Figure 8 Feature win.  Opsahl led all 13 laps of the main to score the victory.

Behind Opsahl, Craig Krueger and Nick Ostburg made a late run through the Top Five. Ostburg surged past Krueger and closed in on Opsahl in the final lap, but Opsahl was able to hold him off at the checkered flag. Krueger was Third, Russ Lorbiecki was Fourth, and Jordan Gracyalny was Fifth.


Austin McKeever picked up his second feature win of the season after taking the lead early in the 2 Buck Bar Rockin’ Roval event.


Vanderloop Equipment helps the Fox River Racing Club present the action. The Super Late Models, Late Models, Super Stocks, WIR ¼-Mile Late Models, Sizzlin’ 4s, and Figure 8s will be in action. Racing begins at 6:30.