(Second-generation racer first to repeat as super late model feature winner in ’20)

(KAUKAUNA, WI) July 16 – The “Montello Missle” Bobby Kendall grabbed the lead on lap 21 and sweated out multiple caution periods and mid race pressure from Jesse Oudenhoven and Sawyer Effertz to capture the “White Race” at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday.

Kendall became the first in the division to become a repeat winner in the track’s sixth night of racing in 2020. With his win Kendall boosted his Red, White & Blue series points lead in the process.

The race was only one lap old when Rockford, Illinois racer Curt Tillman slammed into the outside retaining wall of the backstretch. After a delay racing resumed Jeff Van Oudenhoven shot into the lead with Kendall in tow. The pair broke away from the field slightly with Chad Butz three car lengths back in third.

Kendall ducked underneath Van Oudenhoven for the lead on lap 21.  Kendall quickly pulled away from Van Oudenhoven and built up a several car length cushion. Butz pulled into 2nd by lap 30 with Oudenhoven into third.

Kendall began sifting through lapped cars by lap 36. Butz and Oudenhoven waded their way through the lapped traffic to stay within striking distance of Kendall with Oudenhoven wrestling second away from Butz a few circuits later.

The red flag flew for a halfway break at lap 48 and when the race was attempted to get restarted Andy Monday was in the wrong place at the wrong time and got caught up in an accordian-like, chain reaction deal. His night ended off on the hook.

The next attempt to start the race was successful with Effertz shooting into the third spot. A Randy Schuler spin prompted another yellow. Kendall picked up where he left off before the caution with Effertz and Oudenhoven hot on his heels. Oudenhoven worked his way into second and began pressuring Kendall for the lead. However, in the final 31 circuits Kendall maintained a comfortable four car length cushion over Oudenhoven, Effertz and the rest of the field.

Kendall took the checkers with Oudenhoven, Effertz, Eugene Gregorich Jr, and Van Oudenhoven rounding out the top five finishers. The top ten cars finished on the lead lap of the 96 lap contest with 15 of the original 21 starters running at the end.

Appleton’s Bryan Monday continued his winning ways in the late model division, cruising to victory. Omro rookie Bryan Henry took second, followed by Braison Bennett, Matthew Wittmann and Eddie Muenster. The win was Monday’s fourth of the year.

Appleton’s Kevin Hebbe captured his first ¼ late model feature. Neenah veteran Tom Spierowski captured the other feature, his third of the 2020 campaign.

Greenleaf’s Jeff Treml kept all challengers at bay to capture the super stock feature. Menasha’s Jason Plutz fought his way to the front to collect his third feature win of the season. Dave Meyerhofer took second place money, followed by visiting Mid American driver Andy Meyerhofer, Shane Krueger and current point leader Trevor Howard.

Appleton’s Scott Wolf padded his point lead in the Sizzlin’ 4 class by winning his third feature of the season. Trailing at the checkers were Faithorn, Michigan visitor Elliot Reid, Evan Beattie, Ethan Beattie and Arianna Beattie.

Josh Anthony won the Figure 8 feature.

In pre-race ceremony WIR and Fox River Racing Club track legends Roger “The Bear” Regeth and “Hot Rod” Wheeler were inducted into the club’s Ring of Honor.

Next Thursday night July 23 will be LGH Lifting Gear Hire Veterans night. The Rockin’ Rovals will make their third appearance of the year. Racing gets underway at 6:45 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.

SCHMITTY’S TICKETS SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Bobby Kendall, Montello; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Eugene Gregorich Jr, Amherst; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Jeff Holmgren Jr., East Troy; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Pete Vandermolen Jr, Oshkosh; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Mickey Schallie, Darboy; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Chad Butz, Green Bay; Andy Monday, Appleton; Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Curt Tillman, Rockton, Il.

QUALIFYING HEAT – Stumpf; Monday

DASH – Effertz

FAST TIME: Strelka, 19.197

FOX CITIES TOWING LATE MODEL FEATURE- Bryan Monday, Appleton; Bryan Henry, Omro; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Matthew Wittmann, Appleton; Eddie Muenster, Green Bay

HEAT – Henry; Randerson

DASH- Bryan Monday

FAST TIME- Braison Bennett, 20.351

¼ MILE LATE MODEL FEATURES 1) Kevin Hebbe, Appleton; Jeff Betscha, Appleton; Rick Spoo, Neenah; Jerry Schneider, Kaukauna; Tom Spierowski, Neenah 2) Spierowski; Spoo; Pete McVey, Menasha; Heather Wolfgram, Oshkosh; Betscha


NOVUS GLASS SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Jeff Treml, Greenleaf; Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Andy Meyerhofer, Kaukauna; Shane Krueger, Kaukauna; Trevor Howard, Kaukauna

HEATS 1) Treml; Larry Raygo, Omro 2) Krueger; Trevor Howard

FAST TIME – Andy Casavante, Two Rivers 15.515


SEMI FEATURE – Justin Bilek, Bucktown; Zach Daverveld, Kaukauna; Isaiah Lawrence, Spruce; Jerry Konrad, Appleton

HEATS 1) Tyler Kalies, Kaukauna; Konrad 2) Arianna, Beattie, Little Chute; Ethan Beattie, Little Chute

DASH – Elliot Reid, Faithorn, MI

FAST TIME – Larry Gintner, Neenah 17.840

KEN’S SPORTS SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Jason Plutz, Menasha; Jason Van Handel, Freedom; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Cody Vanderloop, Freedom; Cody Sokolik, Fond Du Lac

HEATS 1) Sokolik; Tanner Fickel, Neenah 2) Kylee Vandermoss, Appleton; Van Handel

FAST TIME – Wautier, 16.347 MARTY NUSSBAUM FIGURE 8 – Josh Anthony, Kaukauna