BUCHANAN, Wis. (July 20, 2023) – Jordan Thiel took advantage of a restart with six laps remaining in the Schmitty’s Tickets Super Late Model 35-lap feature presented by Midwest Restoration to capture his second Fox River Racing Club win at Wisconsin International Raceway Thursday night.

Theil and Brent Strelka engaged in an intense side-by-side battle for three laps after the restart with Thiel eventually pulling away to the win.

Michael Anthony led the early portion of the race until a lap two caution that saw a chain reaction end with Lowell Bennett spinning into turn one. On the restart Anthony was joined by Strelka in the front row. Strelka dashed away and brought Thiel to Second at the drop of the green.

As Strelka and Thiel stepped away, Maxwell Schultz and Andy Monday moved to Second and Third. Behind them Sawyer Effertz and Jeff VanOudenhoven were on the move. They cruised into the Top Six by lap 12.

Strelka paced the field past halfway with Thiel in close pursuit. Effertz was looking to hold off VanOudenhoven, but sparks started to come out of his machine in what appeared to be an issue for Effertz. VanOudenhoven got by, then closed in on Schutz to take Third with seven laps remaining.  Just as that happened Effertz ducked into the pits. The sparks prior were an indicator that a tire was going down on his machine.

One lap later a yellow fell for a spin in turn four by Issac Therrien. This set the stage for the restart with Strelka electing the high line and Thiel on the inside. The leaders dueled back and forth for three laps with Thiel eventually sliding into the lead exiting turn four on lap 32.

Thiel pulled away to the win as Strelka held off VanOudenhoven for Second. Schultz was Fourth and Grant Griesbach rounded out the Top Five.


Earlier in the night Brent Strelka could not be denied in the 20-lap Fox City’s Towing Late Model feature. Strelka took the lead on lap 14 after setting fast time and didn’t look back.

The win came after a week where the team had to repair the car due to an incident at the beginning of last week’s Late Model feature.

Matt Wittman grabbed an early lead in the event with Todd Verhagen in tow. Verhagen took the lead on lap four and started to build his advantage. By lap seven Verhagen was trailed by Braison Bennett, Brandon Reichenberger and Strelka.

A yellow fell on lap ten for an incident involving Justin Woller and Bryan Henry. On the restart Verhagen was able to outlast Bennett with Strelka soon moving into Second.   Strelka waited patiently for the right opportunity and found it as he dashed to the inside on lap 14, claiming the top spot for good.

Verhagen went on to finish Second over Bennett, JJ Vanderloop and Bryan Monday rounding out the Top Five.


Dan Thompson and Henry Neerdaels split wins in the Pete’s Auto WIR Quarter Mile Late Models.

In the first 15-lap feature Thompson secured the lead from the outside of the front row. Ty Feitzer and Braison Bennett then moved to Second and Third on lap five. Bennett was able to work past Feitzer by lap seven, however, Thompson was nearly a straightaway ahead.

His lead vanished on lap 13 when Neerdaels and Tim Bauman got together bringing out a caution.  Thompson was able to hold off Bennett’s charge on the single-file restart as Feitzer slipped past to grab Second and the line. Russ Lorbiecki and Bob Duchow completed the Top Five.

Mickey Schallie took an early lead in the second 15 lapper with Neerdaels following into Second. At halfway Schallie held the lead, but was pressured by Neerdaels. As Schallie swung high exiting the turn, Neerdaels pounced and was able to take the lead on lap 10. He did not look back over the final five circuits on the way to the win.

Schallie held Second, Rick Spoo was Third, Baumann Fourth, and Mike Reichenberger was Fifth.


George Schwalbach used the outside lane to perfection on his way to victory in the 20-lap Novus Auto Glass Super Stock feature. The win was Schwalbach’s second of the year.

Adam Peterman grabbed an early lead from fellow front-row starter Larry Raygo. Schwalbach started to go to work on the outside, getting past Raygo on lap four. Continuing to charge in the high line, Schwalbach led by a nose over Peterman on lap six.

After a three-lap side-by-side battle Schwalbach secured the lead and started to build it on lap nine.  A yellow fell two laps later for a spin by Riley Krueger, bringing the field back to Schwalbach.

On the restart Schwalbach was able to power away from Raygo as the inside line moved into spots in the Top Five. Schwalbach went on for the win over Peterman, Tony Wilz, Trevor Howard, and Jeff Treml.


Jason Vanhandel had a banner night setting fast time and picking up the win in the 20-lap Wisconsin Sport Truck feature. It was his second win of the season, helping him pad the point lead.

After an initial botched start, Masyn Liedke took an early lead. He was challenged immediately by Kyle Quella, who secured the lead on lap two. Several other competitors were following Quella to the front including Landon Braatz, Vanhandel, Kylee Vandermoss and Cody and Kasey Vanderloop.

Trouble for both Masyn and Cadyn Liedke came on lap six when both trucks stalled. On the restart Quella jumped away from Braatz, but soon had to deal with Vanhandel.  Just before halfway Vanhandel was in the lead.

Behind him Kasey and Cody Vanderloop were dueling for the runner up spot. Kasey took the spot on lap 13, but Cody took it back on lap 15. All this allowed Vanhandel to cruise away to the win. Cody Vanderloop was Second, Kasey Vanderloop Third, Vandermoss was Fourth and Quella rounded out the Top Five.


Team driving with twin brother Justin Fickel, it was Jordan Fickel’s turn to grab the steering wheel and the checkered flag in the 20-lap Roundabout Bar & Grill Sizzlin’ 4 feature.

Shane Schwaller took an early lead with cars soon scrambling behind bringing out a caution on lap one. Schwaller got away on the restart and the chaos behind allowed Leon Frahm, Fickel and Mitch Opsahl to close in on spots in the Top Five.

On lap six Fickel made his move to the outside of Frahm to grab Second. Four laps later at halfway Fickel was on the outside of Schwaller battling for the lead.  The leaders soon got caught in lapped traffic, but Fickel was able to break free until a final caution fell with three laps remaining.

Fickel powered away from Frahm, Opsahl and Eli Schommer to secure the win after the drop of the green. Schwaller rounded out the Top Five.


Tyler Vander Bloemen grabbed the lead at the drop of the green in the 13-lap Marty Nussbaum Racing Figure 8s and held off strong challenges for his first feature win.

Matt Bauer pressured Vander Bloemen at the start and briefly took the lead before Vander Bloemen was able to wrestle it back away on lap four. After a restart Vander Bloemen secured the lead again. 

Another challenge came late after point-leader Mike Meyerhofer took Second. However, Vander Bloemen was able to keep him at bay to secure the victory. Bauer was Third, Ethan Beattie Fourth and Josh Anthony was Fifth.


Werner Electic presents the Fox River Racing Club action at Wisconsin International Raceway. The Super Late Models, Late Models, Super Stocks, Wisconsin Sport Trucks, Sizzlin 4s, and Figure 8s will be in action. Racing begins at 6:30.