Zehr Doubles Up In FRRC Action With Red Race Win

Kaukauna, Wis. (June 10, 2022) – It had been a while since Dalton Zehr visited Victory Lane in Fox River Racing Club action before snapping that cold streak in last week’s opener. It only took him seven days to score another win – this time in the opener of the 51st Red, White and Blue State Championship Series.

Zehr snagged the lead from front-row starter Lowell Bennett on lap five of the 45-lap Red Race presented by Al Huss Auto and Valley Gasket, then held off the advances of Chad Butz and Bobby Kendall to secure the victory.

Bennett grabbed an early advantage on the high side at the drop of the green by outdueling defending Red, White and Blue Champion Casey Johnson. Johnson soon dropped off the pace with issues on his machine, retiring on lap five.  As he did, the door opened for Zehr to slide past Bennett, bringing Grant Griesbach and Chad Butz along to second and third.

The lead trio rode for the next seven laps before a caution for heavy smoke pouring out of Griesbach’s machine. He was forced to retire for the evening.  The restart pitted Zehr against Chad Butz. Using the preferred outside line, Zehr was able to secure the lead, but could not escape the threats of Butz.

Another caution fell on lap 17 for a tangle involving Nick Van and Jesse Oudenhoven.  The restart was similar to the previous as Zehr grabbed the lead, but had Butz on his bumper.  In short order, fast qualifier Bobby Kendall moved past Gabe Sommers for Third, and started to track down the top two.

Kendall made his move around Butz with 11 laps to go and found himself just over a second behind Zehr at that point.  He was able to close the gap, and found himself within striking distance in the final three laps. However, Zehr proved to have some reserves in the tank and he was able to deny the advances of Kendall. The pair finished one-two for the second week in a row.

“We got out front early and hang on to it,” Zehr said. “There was no way we were running (Kendall) down, so if you give us the lead, I can make him work hard for it.”

Behind them Chad Butz held on for Third, Sommers was Fourth, and Braison Bennett rounded out the Top Five.


The most pulsating finish of the night came in the 20-lap Late Model Main event.  After two laps of side-by-side action, Brent Strelka was able to surge past Bryan Monday by 0.006 seconds to take the feature win.

It took some time – and a bit of a break – for Strelka and Monday to find their way to the front.  Evan Beattie had a strong showing early in the race as he, Brady Baldry, and Travis Rodewald paced the field.  A lap 8 restart shook that up, however, as race control docked Beattie and Baldry two rows after two failed restart attempts.  That handed the front row to Rodewald and Bryan Henry, with Monday and Strelka behind.

Monday surged to the lead four laps later as he slipped past Rodewald. Henry and Strelka followed suit just a couple of laps later.  After moving to Second, Strelka closed in on Monday and found the inside line with just two laps to go.  The pair raced furiously side-by-side for two laps and had a virtual drag race to the stripe. Strelka clipped Monday by inches to grab the win.  Henry finished Third, Rodewald Fourth, and Chase Randerson rounded out the Top Five.


Cody Vanderloop was a master of the quarter-mile on Thursday night.  He grabbed his first ever Super Stock win in the 20-lap main event then jumped in his Wisconsin Sport Truck to complete the sweep just moments later.

Vanderloop’s run to the Super Stock win saw him utilize the outside line.  Driving Greg Hauser’s station wagon that has seen many victories in the past, Vanderloop was able to patiently pick his way through the field. He eventually battled Jeff Treml for the lead, and grabbed the top spot on lap 12.

Despite having a quick machine, Vanderloop was not in the clear.  A late restart with three laps to go brough Phil Lehl and TJ Smith into the battle.  Despite keeping close tabs, Lehl was unable to pose any major threat to Vanderloop before the checkered flag. Lehl hung on for Second, Smith Third, Trevor Howard was Fourth, and George Schwalbach rounded out the Top Five.

There was no time for Vanderloop to celebrate as he drove to the starting grid for the Wisconsin Sport Trucks and jumped into his mount.

Kasey Vanderloop grabbed an early advantage in the main while the likes of Cody Vanderloop, Jason Vanhandel, Bobby Wautier, and Landon Braatz battled within the Top Five.  Despite building a healthy advantage, Kasey Vanderloop was tracked down by Jason Vanhandel, who stole the lead on lap 10 of the 20-lap event.

With five laps remaining a yellow came down for a spin involving Kasey Vanderloop, resetting the field with Vanhandel, Cody Vanderloop, and Wautier up front.  With three laps to go Cody Vanderloop found an opening and was able to slip past Vanhandel.  He brought Wautier to second, as well.

The duo would begin slicing their way through lapped traffic with Wautier pulling even on the final lap.  However, Wautier was unable to find enough space in the lapped traffic, allowing Cody Vanderloop to slip free and take the win. Vanhandel finished Third, Braatz was Fourth, and Kyle Quella completed the Top Five.


After setting fast time all eyes were on former Red, White and Blue Sizzlin’ 4 Champion Brody Rivest. He proved to be the one to watch.

Rivest wasted no time climbing to the lead from his 11th Place starting spot by the midway point of lap two.  He then mastered lap traffic and went on to lap up to Ninth Place in the field. Behind him Issac Therrien held off a late charge from Scott Blanke to finish Second.  Rick Kaufert and Emery Beattie finished out the Top Five.


Chuck Gilbertson put on a wild smoke show in celebration of his Figure 8 feature win.  At the halfway point of the event Gilbertson tracked down Josh Anthony and muscled his way into the lead. Gilbertson would have to hold off a late charge from both Ethan Beattie and Rockstar Russ Lorbiecki to grab the checkered flag.


Travis Luft led the majority of the 10-lap Rockin’ Roval feature and held off late charges from Jacoby Pollei as well as Taylor VanDenBerg to score his first win in the division.


Fox River Racing Club action returns with L&S Electric presenting the night’s events.  The Super Late Models, Late Models, WIR ¼-Mile Late Models, Super Stocks, Sizzlin 4’s, Wisconsin Sport Trucks, and Figure 8s will be on the card. Racing begins at 6:30.