(KAUKAUNA, WI) August 13– Edgerton’s Casey Johnson, one of the busiest short track racers in the Midwest, returned to Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna and captured the 74 lap “Blue Race” at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday.

Red, White and Blue champions were crowned in the respective divisions. They included Kaukauna’s Jesse Oudenhoven (super late models), Appleton’s Bryan Monday (late models), Kaukauna’s Shane Krueger (super stocks), Menasha’s Jason Plutz (sport trucks), Appleton’s Scott Wolf (Sizzlin’ 4’s) and Darboy’s Terry Van Roy (Figure 8).

“The Maverick” Sawyer Effertz wrestled the lead away from Andy Monday on the second round of the 74-lap contest, which was stalled on lap four for a Jeff Holmgren Jr. spin after Holmgren collided with another car. When racing resumed a five-car pileup took place on the frontstretch involving the cars of Kris Kelly, Brent Strelka, Cory Manders, Pete Vandermolen and Mike Meyerhofer. A long red flag was out while the safety crews cleaned up the debris.

On the restart Jesse Oudenhoven rocketed into the second spot and began pressuring Effertz for the lead. The Kaukauna ace muscled his way past Effertz on lap six and had Johnson shoot into second and began keeping Oudenhoven in his tracks. Johnson pulled inside of Oudenhoven on lap fifteen and went toe-to-toe with the Kaukauna racer for the next several circuits. Oudenhoven was able to keep the top spot though the mandatory break with 34 laps remaining.

When the last half of the contest resumed 15 of the original 24 contestants were still running as Oudenhoven maintained the lead with Johnson second and R.J. Braun squaring off with Effertz in a side-by-side scrap for third. With 30 laps remaining Oudenhoven and Johnson pulled away from the field with Johnson with 29 laps remaining. Braun managed to squeeze past Oudenhoven for second with 20 circuits remaining but Johnson had built up a one second lead over second place. Johnson skillfully sifted his way past lapped traffic in the waning circuits to collect the win. Braun scored second in his first appearance of the year at WIR after closing the gap to a car length at the checkers. Oudenhoven, Effertz and Andy Monday rounded out the top five finishers. With his finish Effertz took over the weekly points lead, three marks ahead of Bobby Kendall.

Green Bay’s Eddie Muenster fought off a late race charge from Omro’s Brian Henry to win his second straight late model feature. Henry took home second place money, followed by Oshkosh’s Chase Randerson, Neenah’s Braison Bennett and Appleton’s Brandon Reichenberger.

Kaukauna’s Jimmy Wilson scored a popular wire-to-wire win in the super stock feature, capturing the caution free event. Hometown driver Trevor Howard, Shane Krueger, Ed Howard and Larry Raygo placed second through fifth, respectively.

Former track champion Plutz scored a clean sweep in the sport trucks, starting off the night by taking fast time, winning his heat race and capturing the caution free feature. Kasey Vanderloop took second at the pay window, followed by Bobby Wautier, Cody Vanderloop and Tanner Fickel.

Little Chute’s Evan Beattie captured the caution free Sizzlin’ 4 feature.

De Pere’s Dave Diedrich captured the “Rockin’ Rovals” feature race, his second here of the year.

Kaukauna’s Craig Krueger won the Figure 8 feature.

In pre-race ceremonies Omro racing legend Terry Baldry, the winningest late model racer in Fox River Racing Club history, was inducted into the track’s Circle of Fame.

Next Thursday night August 20 it will be Pierce Manufacturing Customer Appreciation Night as the ¼ mile late models will return. On track action gets underway at 6:30 p.m. You can check for more information or follow the club’s Facebook page.

SCHMITTY’S TICKETS SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Casey Johnson, Edgerton; R.J. Braun, Wales; Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna; Sawyer Effertz, Darboy; Andy Monday, Appleton; Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Appleton; Bobby Kendall, Montello; Jeff Holmgren Jr, East Troy; Taylor Vandermoss, Appleton; Lowell Bennett, Neenah; Tom Gee, Sobieski; Randy Schuler, Mequon; Tim Springstroh, Freedom; Trevor Vandermolen, Oshkosh; Brady Baldry, Oshkosh; Alex Stumpf, Woodville; Michael Anthony, Appleton; Andrew Morrisey, De Forest; Brent Strelka, Freedom; Grant Griesbach, Pewaukee; Corey Manders, Hilbert; Mike Meyerhofer, Hilbert; Kris Kelly, Norway, MI; Pete Vandermolen Jr, Oshkosh

HEATS 1) Holmgren Jr; Griesbach 2) Kendall; Stumpf

DASH – Monday

FAST TIME: Johnson, 19.297

FOX CITIES TOWING LATE MODEL FEATURE- Eddie Muenster, Green Bay; Brian Henry, Omro; Chase Randerson, Oshkosh; Braison Bennett, Neenah; Brandon Reichenberger, Appleton; Bryan Monday, Appleton; Scott Baker, Kaukauna; Will Timmers, Kaukauna; Rachel Meyerhofer, Brillion; Dan Koch, Omro; Mike King; Appleton; Tarra Springstroh, Freedom (DNS)

HEAT – Monday; Muenster

DASH- Henry

Reichenberger, 20.345

NOVUS GLASS SUPER STOCK FEATURE – Jimmy Wilson, Kaukauna; Trevor Howard, Kaukauna; Shane Krueger, Kaukauna; Ed Howard, Kaukauna; Larry Raygo, Omro

HEAT – Jeff Treml, Greenleaf; Raygo

FAST TIME – Dave Meyerhofer, Kaukauna 15.964

ROUNDABOUT BAR & GRILL SIZZLIN’ 4 FEATURE – Evan Beattie, Bucktown; Arianna Beattie, Little Chute; Aaron Bilick, Kaukauna; Ethan Beattie, Little Chute; Scott Wolf, Appleton

HEATS 1) Ben Schulte; Kaukauna; Mike Daverfeld, Neenah 2) Scott Wolf, Appleton; Dennis DeBruin, Appleton

FAST TIME – Wolf, 17.941

KEN’S SPORTS SPORT TRUCKS FEATURE – Jason Plutz, Menasha; Kasey Vanderloop, Freedom; Bobby Wautier, Denmark; Cody Vanderloop, Freedom; Tanner Fickel, Neenah

HEATS 1) Amanda Korth, Menasha; Andrew Ross, Appleton 2) Plutz; Kasey Vanderloop

FAST TIME – Plutz, 16.412

ROCKIN’ ROVAL FEATURE – Drew Diedrich, De Pere

MARTY NUSSBAUM FIGURE 8 – Craig Krueger, Kaukauna